2017/18 Season

Tour Group One: November 12-19, 2017
The first East Coast tour of the season offers a program of all winds and piano: Ligeti’s Six Bagatelles for Wind Quintet, Beethoven’s Quintet in E-Flat Major, Op. 16, Barber’s Summer Music, Op. 31, and Poulenc’s Sextuor.

National Tour: January 21-28, 2018
Built around the Clarinet Quartet of Penderecki—Marlboro’s composer-in-residence in 2013—this program also includes Beethoven’s String Trio in C Minor, Op. 9, No. 3 and Brahms’s Clarinet Quintet in B Minor, Op. 115.

Tour Group Two: March 4-11, 2018
From the 18th century to the 20th century, this program showcases the variety of chamber music repertoire characteristic of Marlboro. It includes the String Quintet in E Major, Op. 11, No. 5 of Boccherini, a composer championed by the late and longtime participant Pina Carmirelli; Bartók’s String Quartet No. 2; and Ravel’s Piano Trio in A Minor.

Tour Group Three: April 29-May 6, 2018
The final program of the season begins with Haydn’s Quartet in D Major, Op. 20, No. 4 followed by Penderecki’s String Trio. Concluding the program is Brahms’s String Quintet in F Major, Op. 88, described by the composer himself in a letter to Clara Schumann as one of his finest works.